• When It's a Jar

  • By: Tom Holt
  • Narrated by: Ray Sawyer
  • Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 12-17-13
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK
  • 3.9 (12 ratings)

Regular price: $17.55

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $17.55

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Maurice has just killed a dragon with a breadknife. And had his destiny foretold...and had his true love spirited away. That's precisely the sort of stuff that'd bring out the latent heroism in anyone. Unfortunately, Maurice is pretty sure he hasn't got any latent heroism.
Meanwhile, a man wakes up in a jar in a different kind of pickle (figuratively speaking). He can't get out, of course, but neither can he remember his name, or what gravity is, or what those things on the ends on his legs are called...and every time he starts working it all out, someone makes him forget again. Forget everything. Only one thing might help him. The answer to the most baffling question of all. When Is A Door Not A Door?
An absurdly witty novel of alternate universes and very unlikely heroes from one of Britain's best-loved comic writers - perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett
©2013 One Reluctant Lemming Co. Ltd (P)2013 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Haydn on 05-27-14

Holt Evolution

What did you like most about When It's a Jar?

Its a continuation of the You Space story and very Holt, especially how believable the paralel worlds are.

Would you recommend When It's a Jar to your friends? Why or why not?

Very Holt and full of believable twists but a bit complex, looses its way a little and misses the humour of other Holt work which I would recommend first.

What three words best describe Ray Sawyer’s voice?

Clear. Good characterization.

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Discworld meets our world.

Any additional comments?

Glad I read it and a big Holt fan.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Rosemary White on 01-04-14

Something for insomniacs.

Sadly this book drones on and on and is not helped by the narrator's annoying voice characterisations. You could doze off halfway though and not notice the gap in the story.

The book before this, "Doughnut", was not as good as its predecessors and in this book references are made to it, previous stories and said doughnuts and their function, but I think Tom Holt could rejig his usually startling imagination.

His ironic style is still in evidence and there are some wonderful one-liners, but the story moves so very slowly, like a tired snail attempting to scale the summit of a cell-phone repeater tower when the drizzle fades leaving the gastropod stuck halfway up, the clouds are evaporating, the dehydrating summer sun is beginning to beat down and it thinks to itself (in Ray Sawyer's annoying nasal twang) "I should have listened to my gran when she said "You are no Edmund Hillary, don't do it even if it IS there!", (actually my snail is more interesting than the wretched "hero" of Tom's book!).

I first encountered Tom Holt when I bought "Of Life, Liberty And The Pursuit Of Sausages" then "The Portable Door", I found both highly entertaining, original and worth recommending. "Barking"and "In Your Dreams" were quite good too.

Unfortunately this book is neither original nor entertaining and I shall "return" it.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc