Welfare Wifeys : Hood Rat

  • by K'wan
  • Narrated by Cary Hite
  • Series: Hood Rat
  • 11 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the Frederick Douglass Housing Projects, the name of Jada Butler is synonymous with drama. But there is about to be a new contender to the throne of ghetto antics.
Malika is a young, single mother trying to make a life in public housing. When she meets Teddy, she has new hope for the future. The only problem is, he’s already married.
Gucci’s fiancé is now a rising star in the music industry. She’s thrilled when his tour brings him to New York. But she doesn’t know it’s more than music bringing him back.
After her apartment mysteriously burns down, Tionna is relocated to a plush high rise in Upper Manhattan. She is pulling her life together when a ghost from her past appears.
Don is making money hand over fist with the artists he’s signed to Big Dawg Entertainment. Just when he thinks his life can’t get any sweeter, someone tries to take it.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Can't wait for the next book

I really enjoyed this series and can't wait to read the next book. The author gives great detail and brings you into each characters life so you feel involved.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Can't wait for the next one!!!

I truly did enjoy this book. After listening to Section 8, I was hooked on this series. I loved the characters, especially Animal, as they kept me on the edge of my seat. That man is a beast! At times it was hard to get into the story with the narrator playing both male and female voices as well distinguishing what one character said from another, but I'm sure a re-listen would clarify. I do wish there was more going on with Tionna, but what Gucci was going through made up for it. She really should have chilled out. Those two detectives hounding Animal and his crew got on my nerves as did Malika's son for being hard headed. We never find out who shot Don B, but we did find out he is a punk! I was surprised to learn after further researching on the author, that there are two more books in the Hoodrat series, Hoodrat & Still Hood. It seems also that all of the author's books are tied to one another. I just love stories like that where the plot thickens. In addition, I was happy to find out that there in another book to come called Eviction Notice. I hope audible.com would consider putting all of K'wan's books on here as I would surely listen.
Read full review

- Jennifer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-28-2010
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc. and Buck 50 Productions, LLC