Welcome to the Monkey House

  • by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Narrated by David Strathairn, Maria Tucci, Bill Irwin, Tony Roberts, Dylan Baker
  • 11 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Kurt Vonnegut is a master of contemporary American Literature. His black humor, satiric voice, and incomparable imagination first captured America's attention in The Sirens of Titan in 1959 and established him as a "true artist" (The New York Times) with Cat's Cradle in 1963. He is, as Graham Greene has declared, "one of the best living American writers".Welcome to the Monkey House is a collection of Kurt Vonnegut's shorter works. Originally printed in publications as diverse as The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction and The Atlantic Monthly, what these superb stories share is Vonnegut's audacious sense of humor and extraordinary range of creative vision.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Classic Vonnegut

I had read this collection of stories in high school and loved it. When I saw it came out in audio, I snapped it up. It's even better than I remembered it. This collection has it all: from quirky romance to thought-provoking sci-fi to biting (and sometimes hilarious) political satire.

This collection also includes one of the most disturbing short stories I've ever read: the haunting war tale "All the King's Horses".

All stories are well read, by a collection of very capable narrators.
Read full review

- Michael Carrato

Typically Vonnegut ...

I found this collection of stories to be both mismatched and bizarre, and enjoyed them thoroughly. If you are looking for Chicken Soup for your Soul ... look elsewhere. If you are looking for a strange collection of short stories that will make think about them hours after listening, then this is for you.
Read full review

- Tyler Caughill

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-23-2006
  • Publisher: HarperAudio