We Shall Not Sleep : World War One

  • by Anne Perry
  • Narrated by Michael Page
  • Series: World War One
  • 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After four long years, peace is finally in sight. But chaplain Joseph Reavley and his sister, Judith, an ambulance driver on the Western Front, are more hard pressed than ever. Behind the lines, violence is increasing: Soldiers are abusing German prisoners, a nurse has been raped and murdered, and the sinister ideologue called the Peacemaker now threatens to undermine the peace, just as he did the war.Matthew, the third Reavley sibling and an intelligence expert, suddenly arrives at the front with startling news: The Peacemaker's German counterpart has offered to go to England and expose his co-conspirator as a traitor. But with war still raging and prejudices inflamed, such a journey would be fraught with hazards, especially since the Peacemaker has secret informers everywhere, even on the battlefield.For richness of plot, character, and feeling, We Shall Not Sleep is unmatched. Anne Perry's brilliantly orchestrated finale is a heartstopping tour de force, mesmerizing and totally satisfying.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fantastic! Loved the entire series!!

I never liked History in school. Just boring facts to me. However, I am so glad I came upon this series by A.P. Now that I am an adult I can see the subject in a new light and this author has helped me to not only learn about this time in history, but enjoy it! Perhaps she will see fit to write a series about WW 2, with the same characters?? That would be great! You can read the synopsis to discover what the book and the series are about. I just wanted to say here that, for me, it is one of those series that you look back upon with fondness and there was a bit of sadness when it ended. For those who are interested, there are no "F-bombs", and no sexual situations.
Read full review

- GrandmaG

The capstone to a great series...

I have truly loved all five "listens" of this very intruiging series! Very worth while!
Read full review

- Carroll

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-11-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio