Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful Berkeley mom with a radical past vanishes while hiking, leaving her family to piece together her secrets, in this keenly observed novel for fans of Emma Straub and Maria Semple - from the best-selling author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything.
©2017 Janelle Brown (P)2017 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Listening Queen on 09-05-17

I really enjoyed this book!

Any additional comments?

I read the mixed reviews on this book and thought i would take a chance, I have to say I am really glad I did! I ended up really liking these characters, and i found myself wanting to listen more. Some parts although unrealistic weaved a story of how a you can never really know someone and how some people will only show you parts of themselves. There is no good or bad, just Human imperfection. No spoilers here, but i loved that there was no questions left unanswered in the end ... the author really ties everything up nicely so that there is no guessing. Two thumbs up from me!

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By ACV on 08-14-17

Really sucked me in...

I like this author, she is honest and writes from a personal place which brings authenticity to her characters and settings.
First of all this is a unique perspective, like a twist of Rebecca. We care so much about a person whose presence is so powerful and magnetic yet we learn about her fascinating identity in a secondary way. I loved this.

There is something about the people in this book that make you want to keep reading, you fall in love with them Before the story gets really interesting.

So I do tend to try and guess the twist or ending when I'm watching movies or reading and this one was well written. There were several detective moments where I had to piece together the facts and determine red herrings- it was fun.

This was a double dipper for me, I missed the setting and the people. They're well written. Janelle brown is not a fluff writer, she's sophisticated and interesting as are the women she writes about. I wanted more.

The narrator is nice, she does Olive well and has that weird guttural "male" voice but it's ok.

The ending...you're feelings about it will depend on how well rounded the experience of this book will be. I needed some time to think it over, all of it. No spoilers here!

Some people will relate to this story better than others, honestly probably upper mid class women in there 30s/40s and that's okay. Enjoy.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc