Victory, Volume 1

  • by Stephen Coonts
  • Narrated by Eric Conger, Ron McLarty
  • 4 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A stirring tribute to the Greatest Generation of Americans, Victory brings together today's best military, espionage, and techno-thriller writers with all-original tales of World War II. Join these best-selling authors in a five-volume collection filled with short novels of courage, skill, daring, and sacrifice. In gripping stories of war as it really was, here you will meet the men and women who fought and won World War II and truly made the world safe for democracy.Stephen Coonts asks what happens when you load a Catalina flying boat with five tons of bombs, a half-dozen machine guns, and a crew that walks a fine line between valor and suicide. In the Pacific theater of war, the Japanese Navy is about to discover the answer to that question in The Sea Witch.Jim DeFelice takes us to the height of the war when information was bought dearly on both sides. When an American pilot parachutes into Germany to gather information, he lands right in the middle of the viper's nest – a place more deadly than anything he could have found in the skies above.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One part great, one part not-so-great

Coonts story, Sea Witch, is engaging and horrific. He involves the listener with characters who are both sympathetic and flawed. The tragic and ultimately honest look at the combat experiences of the Black Cats honors those flying boat crews whose struggles in the early part of the Pacific campaign were so critical to eventual victory. The De Felice story, in contrast, disappoints, though not sufficiently to spoil the book.
Read full review

- Bill

Victory volume1

The awesome blending together of the reality of war and vivid story telling make this book excellent listening. For those who lived and remembered the stories and to those who made it possible for people like me to hear them I say sincerely, " Salute ".
Read full review

- Gerald

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-08-2003
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio