• by Sarah Stonich
  • Narrated by Amanda Ronconi
  • 12 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On a lake in northernmost Minnesota, you might find Naledi Lodge - only two cabins still standing, its pathways now trodden mostly by memories. And there you might meet Meg, or the ghost of the girl she was, growing up under her grandfather’s care in a world apart and a lifetime ago. Now an artist, Meg paints images "reflected across the mirrors of memory and water", much as the linked stories of Vacationland cast shimmering spells across distance and time.
Those whose paths have crossed at Naledi inhabit Vacationland: a man from nearby Hatchet Inlet who knew Meg back when, a Sarajevo refugee sponsored by two parishes who can’t afford "their own refugee", aged sisters traveling to fulfill a fateful pact once made at the resort, a philandering ad man, a lonely Ojibwe stonemason, and a haiku-spouting girl rescued from a bog.
Sarah Stonich, whose work has been described as "unexpected and moving" by the Chicago Tribune and "a well-paced feast" by the Los Angeles Times, weaves these tales of love and loss, heartbreak and redemption into a rich novel of interconnected and disjointed lives. Vacationland is a moving portrait of a place - at once timeless and of the moment, composed of conflicting dreams and shared experience - and of the woman bound to it by legacy, and sometimes longing, but not necessarily by choice.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Reminded me of home

As a product of the UP of Michigan, these stories rang true. The voice artist mis pronouced a few of the up North names, but it was a very enjoyable listen. I'll read more of this author.
Read full review

- jill

What a Waste

A collection of fifteen short; unfinished stories that are somewhat linked together. I could have written a better story. This was ridiculous. I wouldn't have finished this book other than the fact it was picked by our book club. What a waste of a good credit.
Read full review

- Horse Lover "aseverson"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-01-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios