Regular price: $15.98

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
Under the Eagle is the gripping first novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
AD 42, Germany. Tough, brutal and unforgiving. That's how new recruit Cato is finding life in the Roman Second Legion. He may have contacts in high places, but he could really use a friend amongst his fellow soldiers right now. Cato has been promoted above his comrades at the order of the Emperor and is deeply resented by the other men. But he quickly earns the respect of his Centurion, Macro, a battle-hardened veteran as rough and ready as Cato is quick-witted and well-educated. They are poles apart, but soon realise they have a lot to learn from one another.
On a campaign to Britannia - a land of utter barbarity - an enduring friendship begins. But as they undertake a special mission to thwart a conspiracy against the Emperor they rapidly find themselves in a desperate fight to survive....
©2001 Simon Scarrow (P)2013 Headline Publishing Group Ltd.
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"I don't need this sort of competition." (Bernard Cornwell)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Marie on 10-25-13

Enjoyable Roman Military Mystery

Simon Scarrow is a new author for me. I enjoyed the first volume of his Macro and Cato series even though I felt something was missing but I can't actually put a finger on what. Maybe it was the lack of a conclusion, the ending being a setup for the next book, which is not available on Audible. It doesn't make sense to go on to Book 3 when there would be huge gaps in the major storyline.

That said, Macro the Centurion and Cato the Optimo are an appealing duo. I learned a great deal about the structure of the Roman military and Roman politics. The battle scenes are well orchestrated and are violent without being ghoulish. There are a few too many F-bombs considering the word didn't exist at the time but they don't feel inappropriate for the military setting.

David Thorpe is the wonder narrator. He captures each character perfectly.

I won't continue with this series until Book 2 is available.

Read More Hide me

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Jean on 01-31-16

Enthralling Historical Drama

This historical fiction explores life as a soldier in the Second Legion of the Roman Army stationed in German in 42 A.C.E. It is a familiar theme of an experienced centurion (sergeant) Macro taking a teenaged recruit named Quintus Licinius Cato, an educated freedman, who was appointed by Emperor Claudius to a rank he has no knowledge or experience to hold. Cato must grow up quickly to survive. While the story unfolds Scarrow provides a great deal of information about the Roman Army and its campaigns. This first novel in the series is first set in Germany then the Second Legion is part of the campaign of the conquest of Britain. Scarrow provides the reader with a view of the everyday life of an average Roman soldier.

Scarrow has a good understanding of the genre and of ancient Rome. The characters are interesting and the plot twist and turns with lots of suspense. Scarrow does a decent job with the battle scenes. The book is a fun adventure with some mystery and political intrigue tossed in. David Thorpe does a good job narrating the book.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Pete on 10-11-13

Finally

Would you listen to Under the Eagle again? Why?

I was really excited to see that Scarrow's early Macro & Cato books were finally being released as an audio version. The more recent books have had a couple of different but excellent narrators who capture the voices of the leads excellently. It's always difficult when a series has a new reader but David Thorpe handles the gruff voice of Macro and the younger Cato well. My only gripe, which is small but for me really off putting is his pronunciation of Cato. I have always read it, as previous narrators have as Kay to. Thorpe calls him Car to. For someone new to the series this is irrelevant. But after over a dozen books I just can't think of him this way. I wonder how Scarrow pronounces his name?

This aside it's a great first story with humour and fast paced gritty action that follows our two heroes across Britain in search of Caesar's lost treasure. Great fun and worth a listen.

Read More Hide me

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 08-24-15

A Brilliant Series - but incomplete!

To me this is an excellent series of books. Simon Scarrow produces two well-developed "chalk and cheese" main characters that somehow develop an excellent chemistry as brothers in arms. Plenty of action mixed with plenty of character development is what I like in my books and here we get both aplenty. The narration is lively and positive so moves the story forwards well.

The only thing that irritates me (at the time of writing) is that quite a few of the books are currently not available on audible UK at least and this has been the case for over a year now. I have no idea where the problem is but this point is worth knowing if, like me, your literature is almost entirely consumed these days via Audible.

I'm stuck waiting for book four. This is such a good series I am determined to do them justice by listening in order.

Read More Hide me

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Matthew on 12-12-16

fantastic listen

excellent story, so well written. brilliant narration. will definately be listening to morebof the adventures of macro and Cato

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Pamela on 06-24-17

character, history, action

the beginning of a life's tale, as weedy new recruit Cato is mentored (at first unwillingly) by veteran Macro. An adventure tale which also gives a glimpse of a time in history that was marginal to the big events of the day, but turns out to be central to who we are now. (If 'we' is the anglophone world.)

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews