Under Tiberius

  • by Nick Tosches
  • Narrated by Jonathan Davis
  • 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A work of dangerous and haunting beauty by America's last real literary outlaw.
Under Tiberius is a thrilling story of crime and deceit involving the man who came to be called Jesus Christ. Deep in the recesses of the Vatican, Nick Tosches unearths a first-century memoir by Gaius Fulvius Falconius, foremost speechwriter for Emperor Tiberius. The codex is profound, proof of the existence of a Messiah who was anything but the one we've known - a shabby and licentious thief.
After encountering him in the streets of Judea, Gaius becomes spin doctor for Jesus, and the pair schemes to accrue untold riches by convincing the masses that Jesus is the Son of God. As their marriage of truth and lies is consummated, friendship and wary respect develop between these two grifters.
Outrageous and disturbing, Under Tiberius is as black as the ravishing night, shot through with fierce and brilliant light.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Roaches delivers!

I would imagine that this book will resonate better with Atheists than Theists. Very funny in places!
Read full review

- Mr. Eemon

Loved it and hated it

The story itself was fabulous - a fascinating potential backstory. But the sound quality was abominable in that it was highly variable so you had to turn the volume way up to listen to the quiet parts and then all of a sudden it would be much louder and blast your ears out until you can get the sound turned down quickly. So it was really frustrating to listen to even though I enjoyed the story greatly overall. If you listen to the story in a completely quiet environment this will be a problem. But listening to it in the car or in the hot tub or at the gym where there is other noise going on around you means that the sound is really hard to regulate. And this is regardless of whether you were listening to it over speakers or through earbuds.
Read full review

- M. Hamilton

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio