Regular price: $31.93

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

Why we think it's Essential: I listened to Three Junes after a trip to Scotland, and found myself transported back to that country by John Keating's lilting narration of this engrossing family saga. But Keating's storytelling prowess extends beyond Scotland's borders; he is just as skilled with American characterizations and crosses time zones and years seamlessly in recounting the three summers that make up this gorgeous National Book Award-winning story. — Diana Dapito
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

National Book Award, Fiction, 2002
A Good Morning America "Read This" selection, Three Junes is a vividly textured symphonic novel set on both sides of the Atlantic during three fateful summers in the lives of a Scottish family. In June 1989, Paul McLeod, the recently widowed patriarch, becomes infatuated with a young American artist while traveling through Greece, and is compelled to relive the secret sorrows of his marriage. Six years later, Paul's death reunites his sons at Tealing, their idyllic childhood home, where Fenno, the eldest, faces a choice that puts him at the center of his family's future. A lovable, slightly repressed gay man, Fenno leads the life of an aloof expatriate in the West Village, running a shop filled with books and birdwatching gear. He believes himself safe from all emotional entanglements - until a worldly neighbor presents him with an extraordinary gift and a seductive photographer makes him an unwitting subject. Each man draws Fenno into territories of the heart he has never braved before, leading him toward an almost unbearable loss that will reveal to him the nature of love. Love in its limitless forms - between husband and wife, between lovers, between people and animals, between parents and children - is the force that moves these characters' lives, which collide again, in yet another June, over a Long Island dinner table. This time it is Fenno who meets and captivates Fern, the same woman who captivated his father in Greece ten years before. Now pregnant with a son of her own, Fern, like Fenno and Paul before him, must make peace with her past to embrace her future. Elegantly detailed yet full of emotional suspense, often as comic as it is sad, Three Junes is a glorious triptych about how we learn to live, and live fully, beyond incurable grief and betrayals of the heart - how family ties, both those we're born into and those we make, can offer us redemption and joy.
Three Junes is available in print from Pantheon Books.
©2002 by Julia Glass
(P)2002 by Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Julia Glass' talent just sends chills up my spine; her novel is a marvel." (Richard Russo, author of Empire Falls)
"Has the rich pleasures of a 19th-century novel and the rush of New York life of the last ten years. I'm amazed it's a first novel - it is a mature, captivating work of fiction." (John Casey, author of The Half-life of Happiness)
"Almost threatens to burst with all the life it contains...extraordinary." (Michael Cunningham, author of The Hours)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Dagmar on 01-09-03

Beautiful Narration of a Wonderful Story!

Delightfully written, true to life & completely believable characters make this the best "read" I've had in a long time. The narration with the brogue really completes it. My only complaint is that the book goes from past to present & back again very frequently & can be hard to follow (especially at first, till you figure out what's going on). It doubtlessly would have been easier to follow on paper.

Honestly, this has been my best find here, I highly recommend it!

Read More Hide me

53 of 58 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Sara on 06-23-16

The Search For Love

In the end I enjoyed the book. However, that said, I also agree with negative reviewers in that part 2, the longest of this three part novel, could have used an editor. The flashbacks and time frames got mixed up and at times were really hard to follow.

Further, while audible has this book listed in the genre of fiction with a subheading of contemporary most online book sites list it in the LGBT section. Be aware that the book focuses a great deal on gay men in 1980's NYC during the early AIDS crisis. At times, for me, this focus was too generalized, distanced and stereotypical.

Overall, I stuck with the story in spite of these reservations because I liked the author's writing style and I was caught up in how the tale would play out. I really like books that twist time and provide a variety of points of view on the same events. This was my first book written by Glass and I plan on continuing with her more recent novels. Not perfect, but worth a listen as much of the writing was beautifully done.

Read More Hide me

28 of 32 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews