Then the Stars Fall

  • by Brandon Witt
  • Narrated by Andrew McFerrin
  • 12 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The death of his wife four years earlier left Travis Bennett a shell of the man he used to be. With his dog by his side, Travis raises his three children, manages his business, and works as a ranch hand. But every day, every minute, is an aching emptiness.
Wesley Ryan has fond memories of the small Ozark town of El Dorado Springs. Seeing it as a safe place to put his failed relationships behind him, Wesley moves into his grandparents' old home and takes over the local veterinary clinic. An early morning visit from Travis and his dog stirs feelings that Wesley seeks to push away - the last thing he needs is to fall for a man with baggage and three kids as part of the package.
Life, it seems, has other plans.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful story with great writing

This was an absolutely wonderful, really well written story. This is my first book by this author and I really enjoyed it. This story is based in a small town and is the story of Travis, a widower who is still mourning and in love with his wife after four years. Wesley is the new openly gay vet in town, who retreats to the small town of fond childhood memories to forget a cheating ex boyfriend. When they first meet it is definitely not love at first sight. In fact, since Travis calls Wesley the “f” word and is very hostile to him. I just thought, how the hell will the author convince me these two belong together; I didn’t really like Travis. It was a long road, but in the end, I was convinced. The narrator does an amazing job and really brought these two and all the supporting characters to life. This is a multiple POV book. A little angst, a little drama and a lot of love. My only nits were the overuse of the “f” word; giving POVs to minor characters; and, the fact that Travis seems to bring up his wife so much, it is somewhat distracting from his relationship to Wesley. Overall, well worth a credit..
Read full review

- Riva

Sweet Romance

This was my first experience with Brandon Witt (certainly not the last just finished Shattered Door) and it was a great pleasure to be lost in his phenomenal writing style. Combined with the narration of Andrew McFerrin, I entered the world of Travis and Wesley and felt as if I was a part of that world. Witt provided excellent insight into each character, regardless of status in the story. I could feel the vial, antagonistic hate permeate from the 'evil' character and I could feel and relate to the struggles of both protagonists. Such intense skill and storytelling made this a tale in which I lost myself and related to journey of the characters. Certainly would recommend and am anxious to Witt's talents again as well as those of McFerrin's.
Read full review

- Donald

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-28-2015
  • Publisher: Dreamspinner Press LLC