The Year the Horses Came : The Earthsong Series

  • by Mary Mackey
  • Narrated by Abby Craden
  • Series: The Earthsong Series
  • 15 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Volume One of The Earthsong Trilogy evokes the moment in prehistory when marauding nomads brought horses, male gods, and war to a goddess-worshipping Europe that had known peace for thousands of years. Against this perilous backdrop, a passionate, dangerous love develops between Marrah, a gifted priestess, and Stavan, one of the invading warriors.


Audible Editor Reviews

In a raw, and sometimes wistfully beautiful voice from out of time, performer Abby Craden presents the first volume of Mary Mackey's prehistoric epic The Year the Horses Came.
Taking place in prehistoric Europe, The Year the Horse Came speculates on the moment that two philosophically different cultures - a goddess-worshiper-based matriarchy and the militant patriarchal nomads from the east - came into contact. This is shown through the lens of the young priestess Marrah's journeys, and a relationship with the warrior Stavan. The most evocative and engaging part of this audiobook is how well it believably renders the prehistoric era in which it takes place.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Clan of the Cave Bear Revisited

I just love a good prehistoric trilogy. Tho' not as detailed, the pictures are vivid . . . the characters believable; and volume 1 is a complete story tho' I am anxious to start volume 2. ;->
Read full review

- Victoria L. Hughes

This was awful.

What disappointed you about The Year the Horses Came?

This book was extremely slow. The story was not historically accurate at all.

What could Mary Mackey have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

I honestly don't know how she was able to get a second book published.

Would you be willing to try another one of Abby Craden’s performances?


You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?


Any additional comments?


Read full review

- cs

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-12-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios