The Winter Warrior

  • by James Wilde
  • Narrated by Simon Vance
  • 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following the devastating destruction of the Battle of Hastings, William the Bastard and his men have descended on England. Villages are torched; men, women and children are put to the sword as the Norman king attempts to impose his cruel will upon this unruly nation. But there is one who stands in the way of the invader's savagery. He is called Hereward. He is a warrior and master tactician and as adept at battle as the imposter who sits upon the throne. And he is England's last hope.
In a Fenlands fortress of water and wild wood, Hereward's resistance is simmering. His army of outcasts grows by the day - a devil's army that emerges out of the mists and the night, leaving death in its wake. But William is not easily cowed. Under the command of his ruthless deputy, Ivo Taillebois - the man they call 'the Butcher' - the Norman forces will do whatever it takes to crush the rebels, even if it means razing England to the ground. Here then is the tale of the bloodiest rebellion England has ever known - the beginning of an epic struggle that will change England forever.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great unknown hero!

What does Simon Vance bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Simon brought an earthiness to the story. His dialects were great and his presentation kept me engaged.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

I enjoyed the entire book.

Any additional comments?

Great writing on an unknown hero (for me.) The author did an excellent job with the research and I enjoyed it from beginning to end. I would read more from James Wilde and listen to Simon Vance again.

Read full review

- Aubrey Wynne

excellent narration story plods at times

excellent narration story plods at times but very good overall. speeches to the troops are awesome!
Read full review

- JimB

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-14-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio