The Winter King

  • by Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by Tim Pigott-Smith
  • 6 hrs and 8 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The exciting beginning for Cornwell’s epic Arthurian trilogy.
“Once upon a time, in a land that was called Britain, these things happened…and I was there, and this is how it was.” The Winter King, like the rest of the trilogy, is narrated by Derfel (which is pronounced Dervel), one of Arthur’s warriors. This first book tells how after the death of Uther, High King of Britain, the country falls into chaos. Uther’s heir is a child, Mordred, and Arthur, his uncle, is named one of the boy’s guardians. Arthur has to fight other British kingdoms and the dreadful “Sais” —the Saxons—who are invading Britain. Arthur is supposed to marry Ceinwyn, a princess of Powys, but falls disastrously in love with Guinevere— “There have been many more beautiful women, and thousands who were better, but since the world was weaned I doubt there have been many so unforgettable as Guinevere…and it would have been better, Merlin always said, had she been drowned at birth.”
Individual images (Sword, Armored Gloves) © Shutterstock, Digital Illustration © HarperCollins. Digital artist Greg Whyte.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Poor shadow of a wonderful book

I was thrilled to find this re-released audio version of one of my favorite books of all time, but the thrill ended in disappointment when I listened to the abridged version. Cornwell's vibrant, enthralling story of Arthur is poorly served with its connecting parts conspicuously absent. I can only hope that an unabridged version of The Winter King as well as the rest of the Warlord Trilogy is soon forthcoming. If not, I absolutely recommend reading the book the old fashioned way!
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Abridging Cornwell's work is a freaking crime

Whatever you do, do not bother with abridged versions of Corwell. The man doesn't waste words so anything removed harms the story.
Read full review

- Jake

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-30-2010
  • Publisher: HarperAudio