The Wind off the Small Isles

  • by Mary Stewart
  • Narrated by Susie Riddell
  • 1 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.
'Now she would spell love her own way....'
In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.
While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....
The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Classic Mary Stewart. Enchanting

The story unfolds in vivid word pictures read by an expressive Ms. Riddell. I could not fault the beloved writing style of a favorite author, or the flawless narration. Exceptional and enjoyable. I felt transported to the small isles!
Read full review

- Jennifer Nichols

Little Known Mary Stewart Novella

I have been a Mary Stewart fan for over 50 years. I wish I could read "My Brother Michael" again for the first time (which is a top favorite of mine) I have read and reread all of her contemporary mysteries with pleasure. This novella has been out of print for years and was released to celebrate Mary"s 100th birthday.. Very much in the vein and style of her other classics...The only criticism I have is ITS TOO SHORT! I did not want it to end. The descriptions were marvelous and the scene in the cave very scary . The narration was excellent.
Read full review

- sharon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-22-2016
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton