• The Wind off the Small Isles

  • By: Mary Stewart
  • Narrated by: Susie Riddell
  • Length: 1 hr and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 09-22-16
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (78 ratings)

Regular price: $10.65

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.
'Now she would spell love her own way....'
In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.
While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....
The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.
©1968 MRM Stewart (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jenny on 06-10-17

Classic Mary Stewart. Enchanting

The story unfolds in vivid word pictures read by an expressive Ms. Riddell. I could not fault the beloved writing style of a favorite author, or the flawless narration. Exceptional and enjoyable. I felt transported to the small isles!

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By sharon on 12-10-16

Little Known Mary Stewart Novella

I have been a Mary Stewart fan for over 50 years. I wish I could read "My Brother Michael" again for the first time (which is a top favorite of mine) I have read and reread all of her contemporary mysteries with pleasure. This novella has been out of print for years and was released to celebrate Mary"s 100th birthday.. Very much in the vein and style of her other classics...The only criticism I have is ITS TOO SHORT! I did not want it to end. The descriptions were marvelous and the scene in the cave very scary . The narration was excellent.

Read More Hide me

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Scorpio on 11-26-17

Delightful

A delightful gentle love story. One unknown before but very much enjoyed now.How there will be more to follow

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Readalot on 06-12-17

Charming

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

I would to friends who like style

What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

I'd read it before, so it was expected

Have you listened to any of Susie Riddell’s other performances? How does this one compare?

You and Me, Always, is the only other one. I like her performance.

Did The Wind off the Small Isles inspire you to do anything?

Yes, to be annoyed the other longer books are not on Audible

Any additional comments?

Please... give us the other classic adventures. This one is so very short.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews