The Wind off the Small Isles

  • by Mary Stewart
  • Narrated by Susie Riddell
  • 1 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Beloved author Mary Stewart's long-lost novella, now available again for the first time in 40 years and perfect for fans of Anya Seton, Daphne du Maurier and Santa Montefiore.
'Now she would spell love her own way....'
In 1879 a wealthy young woman elopes with an impoverished fisherman, leaving her family, who live on the volcanic island of Lanzarote, distraught. In 1968, 23-year-old Perdita West, secretary to the famous author Cora Gresham, visits Lanzarote, the strangest and wildest of the Canary Isles, on a research trip. They meet Cora's estranged son, Mike, and fall in love with the unusual, beautiful little island.
While snorkeling, a landslide traps Perdita in an underwater cave. No one knows where she is, so she can't count on a rescue. And her efforts to save herself will reveal the solution to a century-old mystery....
The Wind off the Small Isles is Mary Stewart's sweeping, romantic long-lost novella, finally being brought back in a beautiful, all new edition for the first time in more than four decades.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A magical love story

Any additional comments?

This is the best book I have listened to this year. Mary Stewart has always been one of my favorite authors but in this novella, she has outdone herself.
I listened to it in one go - at times it was hard to believe that a book could really be this good.
Fantastic narration, wonderful love story, descriptive scenery, well written characters. Ten out of ten!

Read full review

- topcatrules "topcatrules"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-22-2016
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton