The Whale Road

  • by Robert Low
  • Narrated by David Rintoul
  • 6 hrs and 9 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Life is savage aboard a Viking raider. When young Orm Rurikson is plucked from the snows of Norway to join his estranged father on the Fjord Elk, he becomes an unlikely member of a notorious crew. They are the Oathsworn, so named after the spoken bond that ties them in brotherhood, and they ply a casual trade on the ocean wave, selling their swords to the highest bidder. But times are changing. Loyalty to the old Norse Gods is fading, and the followers of the mysterious "White Christ" are gaining power across Europe. Hired as relic-hunters by the merchant rulers of a bustling city, the Oathsworn are sent in search of a legendary sword of untold value to the new religion. With only a young girl as guide, their quest will lead them onto the deep and treacherous waters of the "whale road", toward the cursed treasure of Attila the Hun. And to a challenge that will test the very bond that holds them together. A significant new voice in historical fiction, Robert Low has created a startlingly modern tale in the style of the great Viking sagas. A heady mix of powerful suspense, blockbuster battles and religious intrigue, The Whale Road is a must for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Tim Severin.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A great listen!

The Whale Road is a great escape into the fictional life of a young Viking -- the battles, travels, and intrigue of midievil culture and worldview. An enjoyable,extremely well-written and narrated book - perfect for those (like me!)who have enjoyed Cornwell's Saxons stories. This one will not disappoint! Here's hoping more stories are forthcoming...
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-12-2007
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited