The Wandering Harlot

  • by Iny Lorentz, Lee Chadeayne (translator)
  • Narrated by Kate Rudd
  • 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1410 in Constance, Germany, the beautiful Marie Schärer's luxurious life as a merchant's daughter is destroyed when her ambitious father arranges her marriage to a lawyer from the Black Forest named Rupert Splendidus. Her childhood sweetheart warns her of the attorney's sly character and is tragically proven right the day before the wedding, when Rupert accuses Marie of unimaginable behavior and has her thrown into a dank dungeon, where she is brutally attacked by his henchmen. Unfairly condemned and banished from her home, Marie is forced to become a wandering prostitute to survive. The clever and kind Hiltrud befriends Marie, and the strong-minded pair sets out on spirited adventures - bedding counts, meeting scoundrels, and tricking foes - as Marie plots the ultimate revenge on the men who stole her honor and her family's fortune.
Set against a richly detailed historical backdrop, this is the dramatic tale of one woman's quest for vengeance, redemption, and real love.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent historical fiction!!

By the title I was a bit dubious about how serious this series would be. But I am delighted to say it is rich in actual history & given a magnificent if humbling look into the lives of the times. I enjoyed it so much!! I just hope the next 2 books make it to audio soon!!
Read full review

- Robin Rains

Excellent !!!

What did you love best about The Wandering Harlot?

The history of the times kept me fascinated and the courage of Marie..such a survivor !

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Wandering Harlot?

The ending

What does Kate Rudd bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?


Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

there were many reactions and emotions to be had

Read full review

- Shirley A. Nemeth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-24-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio