The Virgin's Daughter : Tudor Legacy

  • by Laura Andersen
  • Narrated by Rosalind Ashford
  • Series: Tudor Legacy
  • 12 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin's Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?
Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She's made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel's very life and the security of the nation in peril.
Only those closest to Elizabeth - her longtime confidante, Minuette; her advisor and friend, Dominic; and the couple's grown children - can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet all of the queen's maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Intriguing premise, good story, great storytelling

Any additional comments?

What if Elizabeth I had produced an heir? How would the course of history have changed? In this compelling glimpse into Elizabeth's life and those of the people closest to her, we are treated to a well-crafted fictionalized version of history that is liberally peppered by actual facts. Both real and imagined historical characters are brought to life by really good narration/storytelling. The reader has a very pleasing voice and creates clear personalities for each of the players in a high-stakes royal game of intrigue and politics. I found myself lost in this thoroughly enjoyable tale--which is, of course, what good storytelling should do. Looking forward to hearing the rest of this series.

Read full review

- RC

Nice continuation!

!!!SPOILERS!!!

This was a very nice continuation of the Boleyn books. I was hoping for a more devastating secret from Nicola. The fact that he was screwing Julian's first love was a let down, of sorts. I was expecting something to the effect of Julian was Felix's real father. I DO like the fact that Mary Stuart is in play again. I can only imagine how upset Queen Elizabeth will be when the details of the plot come to light. Here's hoping for another book!!
Read full review

- Nancy L. Lamb "I love books about history and thrillers/suspense."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-26-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios