The Vineyard

  • by Barbara Delinsky
  • Narrated by Lauren Mufson
  • 4 hrs and 9 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Barbara Delinsky has written her most complex and emotionally rewarding novel yet: a story of two women, a generation apart, each of whose dream becomes bound with the other's. To her family, Natalie Seebring is a woman who prizes appearances: exquisitely mannered, a supportive wife, and head of a successful wine-producing enterprise. So when she announces plans to marry a vineyard employee mere months after the death of her husband of 58 years, her son and daughter are stunned. Faced with their disapproval, Natalie decides to write a memoir. Olivia Jones is a dreamer, living vicariously through the old photographs she restores. She and her daughter, Tess, cling to the fantasy that a big, happy family is out there just waiting for them. When Natalie hires Olivia to help with her memoir, a summer at Natalie's vineyard by the sea seems the perfect opportunity to live out that fantasy. But all is not as it seems. As the illusion of an idyllic existence comes crashing headlong into reality, the lives of these two women, parallel in so many ways, become a powerful and moving story.


What the Critics Say

"Another enjoyable novel." (Library Journal)
"High drama, beautiful scenery, and resilient yet sensitive characters make this a must for all Delinsky fans and a perfect introduction to her work." (Booklist)
"Mufson's soft voice and subtle inflections reveal the slowly building romance that lies just below the surface of this tale of families and dreams." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Vineyard

Excellent story line and nice reading! Well worth the purchase!
Read full review

- Cecilia

Read the book!

Very disappointing - way too much abridged from the book. I felt like some of the major events didn't make sense as too much was deleted leading up to the event such as Simon's wedding.
Read full review

- Sue S.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-12-2007
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio