Regular price: $20.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Mumbai, murder, and a baby elephant combine in a charming, joyful mystery for fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Harold Fry.
On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.
The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved.
And the second is a baby elephant.
As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.
And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs....
©2015 Vaseem Khan (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Scott forsyth on 10-02-15

Unexpected storyline😀

What a fantastic "read" enjoyed every single word. I came across the book when the author was interviewed on BBC Radio 2, his enthusiasm for the storyline was evident. This isn't a story about an elephant its a well written story about a central character and the many and varied people who he comes into contact with. The twists and turns keep coming right up to the last word. Really enjoyed it and can't wait for the next episode.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful


By jitesh on 02-19-16

Indian police officer with a pet elephant.

an Indian police office about to retire inherits a baby elephant. Should he investigate an suicide/murder on his last day of work. He must but has to do it on his own time as he embarks on retirement.

nice soft hearted storyline.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By KATRINA SPENCER on 03-04-16

Quirky and colourful

a light hearted detective novel that seems to be setting itself up for a series.
Set in India adds colour and character and of course the elephant!
A light but enjoyable book in the same vein as the No.1 Ladies Detective novels.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews