Regular price: $10.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Struggling with both PTSD and the trauma of his ex-wife's infidelity, retired marine Wesley Holt seeks a simple civilian life. His favorite waitress at the Perfect Diner secretly stirs his heart. Yet Wes - scarred by betrayal and racked by guilt over his fallen comrades in Afghanistan - stays quiet, convinced he can never love again...or be loved.
Waitress and single mother Carlie Stewart hides fear behind her smile. Her ex-husband has escaped from prison and wants their son - and revenge. When the fugitive arrives to wreak havoc, Wes insists Carlie and her son stay with him for protection. Finally daring to let her guard down, Carlie divulges her dark past to Wes, and, to her surprise, Wes appreciates her strengths and longs to trust her with his tattered heart. The safer they feel with each other, the more trust and passion grow. But can they overcome the demons in their pasts - and the heartbreak they've carried into the present - to build a lasting future together?
©2015 Barbara Longley (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Lulu on 11-21-16

Pretty Engaging Entry In this Series

This series, about a group of ex service people working at a furniture company in Indiana has been consistently good. There is enough emotion, angst and damage to keep the characters sympathetic and back story to keep it interesting. I don't think this fourth book in the series is as strong as at least two of the earlier entires, but it was still worth reading. There isn't much humor, but you do like the characters. And the ending is positive. Dove does a good job with narration.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By S. Franklin on 07-09-17

Perfectly precious

This series is so wonderfully written & they all live happily ever after. The characters are all great & they all are included in each book. I like that we get to see.what happens to every & how they all come together to help & protect each other.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc