The Treemakers

  • by Christina L. Rozelle
  • Narrated by L. Starr
  • 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Treemakers is a young adult dystopian sci-fi romance adventure that would appeal to fans of Divergent, The Maze Runner, and The Hunger Games, with a prose similar to Stephenie Meyer and world-building as rich and complex as J.K. Rowling.
Sixteen-year-old Joy Montgomery, daughter of Zephyr the Magnificent, the great magician, can only reminisce of better times. Before the Superiors. Before the uprisings. Long ago. Before the dying Earth ripped the family she loved away from her. She can only dream of the adventure life must've been before their ancestors brought the apocalyptic devastation in the form of disastrous climate change.
In this desolate dystopian future, the Greenleigh orphans are "privileged" with the task of building mechanical trees for the post-apocalyptic survivors in Bygonne, so their world behind The Wall can breathe another day, and so the Superiors may continue their malevolent reign.
Lured by a yearning for freedom, tenacious curiosity, and hunger for adventure, Joy discovers hope and magic amid the misery, and power in her promise to care for those remaining, whom she loves enough to risk her life for. To save them, herself, and the boy she adores from the abuse and slavery by the Superiors, Joy must entrust the aid of an unlikely ally who harbors a dangerous secret.
With an intriguing stranger at the helm, Joy and the treemakers embark on an intense and terrifying, yet liberating quest for the truth about the existence of the forbidden paradise beyond The Wall.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

better then what i expected

I was a bit unsure how this book would go. Started out a bit slow and very easy to follow and then it got better and better it was so hard to stop listing to the book when i need to shut it off. I really enjoyed it , it was differnt story , some twist and turns and some heart reaching parts . Can not wait for book 2
Read full review

- CMT

Light in the darkness.

I loved this read!! It had a whole new twist then what I've read before to a dystopian read. The "world" you thought you knew, the "life" your forced to live and work in is a lie, and not what you thought of at all. Truths are revealed, secrets uncovered, pushed to the limits, finding new love and new friends. I loved this book, and can't wait for the second one!!! :)
Read full review

- josh rangel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-04-2015
  • Publisher: A Spark in the Dark Press