The Treemakers

  • by Christina L. Rozelle
  • Narrated by L. Starr
  • 10 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Treemakers is a young adult dystopian sci-fi romance adventure that would appeal to fans of Divergent, The Maze Runner, and The Hunger Games, with a prose similar to Stephenie Meyer and world-building as rich and complex as J.K. Rowling.
Sixteen-year-old Joy Montgomery, daughter of Zephyr the Magnificent, the great magician, can only reminisce of better times. Before the Superiors. Before the uprisings. Long ago. Before the dying Earth ripped the family she loved away from her. She can only dream of the adventure life must've been before their ancestors brought the apocalyptic devastation in the form of disastrous climate change.
In this desolate dystopian future, the Greenleigh orphans are "privileged" with the task of building mechanical trees for the post-apocalyptic survivors in Bygonne, so their world behind The Wall can breathe another day, and so the Superiors may continue their malevolent reign.
Lured by a yearning for freedom, tenacious curiosity, and hunger for adventure, Joy discovers hope and magic amid the misery, and power in her promise to care for those remaining, whom she loves enough to risk her life for. To save them, herself, and the boy she adores from the abuse and slavery by the Superiors, Joy must entrust the aid of an unlikely ally who harbors a dangerous secret.
With an intriguing stranger at the helm, Joy and the treemakers embark on an intense and terrifying, yet liberating quest for the truth about the existence of the forbidden paradise beyond The Wall.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Light in the darkness.

I loved this read!! It had a whole new twist then what I've read before to a dystopian read. The "world" you thought you knew, the "life" your forced to live and work in is a lie, and not what you thought of at all. Truths are revealed, secrets uncovered, pushed to the limits, finding new love and new friends. I loved this book, and can't wait for the second one!!! :)
Read full review

- josh rangel

Fantastic YA Dystopian Novel~A Bright New Voice

The Treemakers, by Christina Rozelle is one of the most refreshingly new and exciting YA dystopians I've listened to for a long time. It is a vivid tale of strength, loss, renewal, courage but most of all self-discovery.

The main character, Joy, lives in a closed society we eventually discover is an underground city devoted purely to making trees. These mechanical trees will replenish the sickened, oxygen starved world above ground. Of course we know this can't be true. But Joy and her friends do not. All the adults have died rather suddenly from some unknown disease, and only a handful of teens are left to care for the remaining survivors, if you can call them that. We know they are slaves.

When Joy and her friends discover a way out of their horrible situation do they dare grab it? They could be trading one terrible situation for another. But Joy's bravery tells and their adventure begins. And what an adventure!

Ms. Rozelle's characters are her strength as is her ability to create an amazingly real plot with her smooth and descriptive prose. I was living that story with those kids, laughing and crying, holding my breath, cheering and jumping for "Joy" as she and her friends brave adventure after heart-pounding adventure. To tell the truth, I was quite depressed when, after completing this story, I discovered I must wait over a month for the release of the sequel. Great job, Ms. Rozelle. I can't wait!

Most highly recommended!
Read full review

- Valerie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-04-2015
  • Publisher: A Spark in the Dark Press