The Towers of Silence : The Raj Quartet

  • by Paul Scott
  • Narrated by Richard Brown
  • Series: The Raj Quartet
  • 18 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

India, 1943. In a regimental hill station, the ladies of Pankot struggle to preserve the genteel facade of British society amid the debris of a vanishing empire and World War II. This volume follows the fates of the Laytons and a retired missionary teacher, all of whom can foresee the end of the Raj - and both welcome and lament its passing.


What the Critics Say

"Remarkable....Never has the theme - relations between Europeans and non-Europeans - been treated as brilliantly." (The New Yorker)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great insights and very well read. part 3 of 4.

loved it the mini the miniseries was very true to it but this book has such depth and great Reflections on what colonialism means.
Read full review

- Elizabeth

Comment on narration

Any additional comments?

One reviewer noted that the formality of the narrator, whose voice and approach seems to embody British Imperialism, distracted from the audiobook. I disagree. Richard Brown improves over time and worth listening to in all the three remaining Raj Quartet novels. His formal tone actually makes sense in light of the themes of the book, and his ability to do various characters voices grows significantly. Don't let his formal tone deter you. These books are superior and brilliant, and very well worth your time.

Read full review

- Virginia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-11-2010
  • Publisher: Random House Audio