The Taste of Sorrow

  • by Jude Morgan
  • Narrated by Phyllida Nash
  • 17 hrs and 14 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From an obscure country parsonage came the most extraordinary family of the nineteenth century. The Brontë sisters created a world in which we still live the intense, passionate world of Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights; and the phenomenon of this strange explosion of genius remains as baffling now as it was to their Victorian contemporaries.
In this panoramic novel we see with new insight the members of a uniquely close-knit family whose tight bonds are the instruments of both triumph and tragedy.
Emily, the solitary who turns from the world to the greater temptations of the imagination: Anne, gentle and loyal; Branwell, the mercurial and self-destructive brother; and the brilliant, tormented Charlotte, longing for both love and independence, who establishes the family’s name.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great writer, poor narrator

I couldn't keep listening to this one. Ms Nash sounds like she is a little drunk, or seriously dehydrated. The mouth clicks drove me crazy. I'll try again through small speakers, rather than headphones. Such a shame, as Jude Morgan is one of my favourite writers.
Read full review

- Margaret

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-05-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios