The Summer He Didn't Die

  • by Jim Harrison
  • Narrated by Lloyd James, Marguerite Gavin
  • 8 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Celebrated author Jim Harrison, whose robust, tender, and deeply felt books have made their mark on the American literary landscape, here delivers a collection of three novellas infused with all the wisdom and generous spirit that his readers have come to expect. In the title novella, "The Summer He Didn't Die", Brown Dog, a hapless Michigan Indian, is trying to parent his two stepchildren on meager resources. It helps that his charms are irresistible to the new dentist in town.
"Republican Wives" is a riotous satire on the sexual neuroses of the political right and the irrational nature of love, which, when thwarted, can turn into an urge to murder.
"Tracking" tells the author's life story through a retracing of the places and settings that have marked it.


What the Critics Say

"Harrison's command of the novella form is as impressive as the range of his voices....This set of short fictions shifts pitch-perfect perspectives effortlessly, with a lightness that belies its depth." (Publishers Weekly)
"Harrison's earthy prose, uniquely evocative of place, is economical, precise, and hearty, and is sometimes startling in its ability to touch on core truths." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

I want to be Brown Dog!

Jim is a modern classic writer. His stories resonate widely and passionately. His characters seem childlike and warped by adulthood all in the same time-space continuum. How he can reach back and retrieve such deep and lost memories is a lost art.
Read full review

- Stuart

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-01-2006
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.