Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Haunted by dark secrets and an unsolved mystery, a young doctor returns to his isolated Adirondacks hometown in a tense, atmospheric novel in the vein of Michael Koryta and Harlan Coben.
Burying the past only gives it strength - and fury.
Nate McHale has assembled the kind of life most people would envy. After a tumultuous youth marked by his inexplicable survival of a devastating tragedy, Nate left his Adirondack hometown of Greystone Lake and never looked back. Fourteen years later, he's become a respected New York City surgeon, devoted husband, and loving father.
Then a body is discovered deep in the forests that surround Greystone Lake.
This disturbing news finally draws Nate home. While navigating a tense landscape of secrets and suspicion, resentments and guilt, Nate reconnects with estranged friends and old enemies, and encounters strangers who seem to know impossible things about him. Haunting every moment is the Lake's sinister history and the memory of wild, beautiful Lucy Bennett, with whom Nate is forever linked by shattering loss and youthful passion.
As a massive hurricane bears down on the Northeast, the air becomes electric, the clouds grow dark, and escalating acts of violence echo events from Nate's own past. Without a doubt, a reckoning is coming - one that will lay bare the lies that lifelong friends have told themselves and unleash a vengeance that may consume them all.
©2018 Brendan Duffy (P)2018 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Brendan Duffy owes me several nights of sleep, because once I finished the first chapter of his novel, I couldn’t stop turning the pages until I’d read every last thrilling, unsettling, heartbreakingly lovely last one of them. Duffy’s novel is, on the surface, a gripping murder mystery - but beneath that lies a love story, a cautionary coming-of-age tale, and a devastating meditation on violence and loss. A whirlwind of intrigue, vengeance, and wild longing, The Storm King will sweep you off your feet and blow you away." (Robin Wasserman, author of Girls on Fire)
"Narrator Jon Lindstrom's clipped, precise delivery heightens the story's noirish elements. From the harrowing opening passages to the last gut-churning twist, Lindstrom cultivates an almost oppressive sense of foreboding. His narration remains strong through the many narrative strands, characters of all ages, and even when reading from the diary of a teenage girl. It's a versatile, pitch-perfect performance of an audiobook that thriller fans won't want to miss." (AudioFile)  
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kendall Gorman on 05-30-18

Great Story!!

Kept me hooked until the very end. I read House of Echos first and then this one. They are both fantastic.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Stephanie Ross on 04-02-18

This was a terrific story!

Really fun listen. the narrator is a little intense at first, but you get used to it quickly. Fun listen :)

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews