The Stench of Honolulu

  • by Jack Handey
  • Narrated by Jack Handey
  • 3 hrs and 12 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Finalist, Humor, 2014
The legendary Deep Thoughts and New Yorker humorist Jack Handey is back with his very first novel - a hilarious, absurd, far-flung adventure tale.
"Are you a fan of books in which famous tourist destinations are re-purposed as unlivable hellholes for no particular reason? Read on!
"Jack Handey's exotic tale is full of laugh-out-loud twists and unforgettable characters whose names escape me right now. A reliably unreliable narrator and his friend, who is some other guy, need to get out of town. They have a taste for adventure, so they pay a visit to a relic of bygone days - a travel agent - and discover an old treasure map. She might have been a witch, by the way. Our heroes soon embark on a quest for the Golden Monkey, which takes them into the mysterious and stinky foreign land of Honolulu. There, they meet untold dangers, confront strange natives, kill and eat Turtle People, kill some other things and people, eat another thing, and discover the ruins of ancient civilizations.
"As our narrator says, 'The ruins were impressive. But like so many civilizations, they forgot the rule that might have saved them: Don't let vines grow all over you.'"


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dry. Incoherent. Hilarious.

It's basically Deep Thoughts crammed into a flimsy plot. I love his stuff, but I could only take so much at a time due to dryness desensitization. Then I'd come back to it and it was hilarious again. His tone is hysterical, and I could definitely see re-listening to this in the future.
Read full review

- Nate

Just buy it.

I don't often re-listen to audiobooks. I've listened to this one three times and keep laughing. It is hilarious.

If you clicked on this book recognizing the name Jack Handey, just buy it now and get ready to laugh until your face hurts.

You're welcome.
Read full review

- Eric Murphy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-16-2013
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio