The Spring of the Ram : The House of Niccolo

  • by Dorothy Dunnett
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: The House of Niccolo
  • 26 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1461, the mysterious Nicholas is in Florence. Backed by none other than Cosimo de' Medici, he will sail the Black Sea to Trebizond, last outpost of Byzantium, and the last jewel missing from the crown of the Ottoman Empire.
The Spring of the Ram is a blend of scholarship and narrative shimmering with the scents, sounds, colours and combustible emotions of the 15th century.


What the Critics Say

"Dorothy Dunnett takes readers with her into a fabulous past, using suspense and high adventure" (Sunday Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well done!

I read the series years ago. Happy to relive the life and adventures of Niccolo through the wonderful voice of Mr. Griffin.
Read full review

- Vicki

Gordon Griffin's accents are such a disaapoinment

Where does The Spring of the Ram rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Really disappointing

What did you like best about this story?

I love the story - I've read it 3 times, first time listening. First two books of the series were great audiobooks. This one, uck.

How could the performance have been better?

Why does everyone have to have a phony accept? And, what sense does it make having the main character - who is from the same place as many with the phony accepts NOT have his own accent? Nicholas grew up with Mathilde - why does Mathilde have a terribly fake French accent and Nicholas not?? Please - you did a great job in Book 1, why change the game now. So distracting, so disappointing. There are 5 more books. Are you going to be as corny in all of them?

If you could take any character from The Spring of the Ram out to dinner, who would it be and why?

Tobie - to see if he started to sneeze.

Any additional comments?

I wish there were no accents.

Read full review

- Heather

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-06-2014
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks