The Sound of Thunder : Courtney

  • by Wilbur Smith
  • Narrated by John Lee
  • Series: Courtney
  • 14 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A war for a nation. The battle for her heart.
'Only once in his life had Sean met a man whose strength matched his own – and now, again, they were pitted against each other...'
Sean Courtney, impulsive adventurer of When the Lion Feeds returns from the wildnerness a rich man – until he is robbed by the Boers of his wagons, his gold and the girl he loves.
A grim homecoming finds his country in the cruel grip of war. But in the bloody days ahead, conflicts within his family will prove far more bitter than any fought on the veld...
This is the gripping second novel, in the Courtneys sequence.


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Battling brothers

Lots of war and death in this novel but I enjoyed it nevertheless and have the next one downloaded even though it is abridged.
Read full review

- Shelley

Brilliant sequel!

This is the brilliant sequel to When the Lion Feeds. After leaving the Witwatersrand with his son Dirk, Sean Courtneymeets Ruth Friedman and together they escape into British held territory during the Boer War. They go their separate ways, and Sean joins the British Army after a brief return home to Ladyburg. He battles against his brother in law Jan Paulis who leads a small troop of Boer soldiers, eventually after the two have several encounters the war ends in peace. Sean returns home to marry Ruth whose husband Saul has died during the war. Garry continues his jealousy and hatred of Sean culminating in a climatic horse race between Michael and Dirk Courtney, in which the result could determine Garry's fate. Brilliantly narrated once again by John Lee, Wilbur Smith's The Sound of Thunder is a great listen and read.
Read full review

- James

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2013
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd