Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

On the heels of the international best seller Only Time Will Tell, Jeffrey Archer picks up the sweeping story of the Clifton Chronicles….
Only days before Britain declares war on Germany, Harry Clifton, hoping to escape the consequences of long-buried family secrets, and forced to accept that his desire to marry Emma Barrington will never be fulfilled, has joined the Merchant Navy. But his ship is sunk in the Atlantic by a German Uboat, drowning almost the entire crew. An American cruise liner, the SS Kansas Star, rescues a handful of sailors, among them Harry and the third officer, an American named Tom Bradshaw. When Bradshaw dies in the night, Harry seizes on the chance to escape his tangled past and assumes his identity.
But on landing in America, he quickly learns the mistake he has made, when he discovers what is awaiting Bradshaw in New York. Without any way of proving his true identity, Harry Clifton is now chained to a past that could be far worse than the one he had hoped to escape.
©2012 Jeffrey Archer (P)2012 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Margaret Campbell on 05-24-12

Can';t Wait for the Next One!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed this fact when this one came out I went back and reread the first one before starting the second..........and was glad I did. The first one was just as enjoyable the second time around.

Do not understand all of the negative reviews from people who object to being left hanging at the end. The author stated from the start that this work was a series that would be produced over a period of years so if you don't like that format then don't buy the first one!!!

The reader was excellent...........there were just a few voices that grated on me (Alistair!) but for the most part they were delightful.

Highly recommend these books to anyone who likes this genre.

Read More Hide me

13 of 13 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Daniel McAfee on 09-11-12

Great follow up to Book 1 and Cliffhanger to Book

First and foremost, I can't even recommend Book 2 without listening to or reading Book 1. I suppose it's possible to enjoy, but you'll get much more out of them by taking them in order.

Book 1 is very slow and long in character development. Book 2 picks up the action and character's on a riveting pace.

The series, which I understand is to be 6 Books, is a time capsule of the life and times of the characters on a fictitious base around historical times and events. The book really feels like a Ken Follett novel, which is a good thing to me.

Overall, I can't wait for Book 3, I expect it to be "Can't put down" as well.

Highly Recommended - Both books taken in order.

Read More Hide me

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc