Regular price: $15.98

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.98

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A chilling psychological thriller portraying the disintegration of a relationship down to the deadliest point when murdering your husband suddenly makes perfect sense. A novel perfect for readers of Sophe Hannah, Nicci French, and Barbara Vine.
Todd Gilbert and Jodie Brett are in a bad place in their relationship. They've been together for 28 years, and with no children to worry about there has been little to disrupt their affluent Chicago lifestyle. But there has also been little to hold it together, and beneath the surface lie ever-widening cracks.
He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. When it becomes clear that their precarious world could disintegrate at any moment, Jodie knows she stands to lose everything. It's only now she will discover just how much she's truly capable of....
©2013 A. S. A. Harrison (P)2013 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Kindle Customer on 01-03-16

Smart and Entertaining

Good novel. Well written and very cerebral, in terms of the psychological issues that are explored regarding infidelity, personality and the experiences in our pasts that invariably condition us to act out and make the sometimes dysfunctional decisions that we do as humans trying to find our way in life. You can't help but feel empathy for Jodi, and even Todd and the young immature homewrecker, Natasha. My attention was riveted the whole time. Well done A.S.A. Harrison. Kudos also to the narrator. Her voice and expressiveness helped the story to really come alive.

Read More Hide me

By Jane F. Clifton on 09-20-14

Gone Girl it ain't

Would you try another book from A. S. A. Harrison and/or Emily Pennant-Rea?

No

Has The Silent Wife turned you off from other books in this genre?

Hard to tell what genre it is.... It's not Crime or Chick Lit. What genre is it?

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Emily Pennant-Rea?

An American

Any additional comments?

It's a very boring book and I couldn't finish it. Kept waiting for something to HAPPEN! Maybe an American narrator would have brought it to life a bit more. It was so the wrong narrator for the job.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By M on 08-28-13

A real find!

This is the first book I have listened to by this author. It was a real find. Very accomplished writing; believable characters and a very big surprise at the end. Who could ask for more? Having been, quite frankly, disappointed with the offerings from some of the more well known authors, this was a real treat. I am a fan!

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful


By Sharon Frater on 09-25-15

Not bad....but !

Any additional comments?

For me this was spoiled by the performance. Why an English person with a very posh voice who you can hear swallowing should be reading a book set in America and trying to put on an American accent...didn't do it for me I'm afraid. If you get over the voice the story is quite good but I won't be rushing to buy more from this author. Neither will I be listening to this performer again in a hurry. She would be more suited to a certain type of book requiring a clipped English accent.

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Michelle on 12-04-17

Odd

This story was interesting in that you gave you the view point from 2 people. I felt it dragged in and I skipped several chapters and didn’t miss a thing

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews