The Sign of the Broken Sword

  • by G. K. Chesterton
  • Narrated by David Timson
  • 0 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is a story from the The Innocence of Father Brown - Volume 2 collection.
Here are the six final stories from The Innocence of Father Brown relating the crime-solving adventures of a rather unconventional detective. Having accumulated wisdom and empathy from years of listening to the dark confessions of his parishioners, in a flash Father Brown is able to solve mysteries that confound all others. Here is an eccentric and loveable character that will appeal to fans of the legendary sleuth Sherlock Holmes. The stories are engagingly read by David Timson: "The Wrong Shape", "The Sins of Prince Saradine", "The Hammer of God", "The Eye of Apollo", "The Sign of the Broken Sword", and "The Three Tools of Death".


Audible Editor Reviews

While wandering the forest in search of a famous monument to a war hero, Father Brown and his sidekick Flambeau begin to wonder about the truth behind General Sir Arthur St. Clare. Though English streets and parks bear his name in tribute, his legacy has come into question. For Father Brown, St. Clare was more a villain than a hero, and in the forest will be his proof. G. K. Chesterton wonderfully explores the myths behind heroism in this installment of the Father Brown series, which David Timson - with a grave and insinuating performance - gives a weighty urgency.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Well read

Another gem from the astonishingly detailed and insightful mind of GK Chesterton. The reader does a good job with the contrasting voices of Fr. Brown and his huge felonious French friend.
Read full review

- Sam

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-02-2013
  • Publisher: Naxos AudioBooks