The Short Stories of Anton Chekhov, Volume 1

  • by Anton Chekhov
  • Narrated by Charlton Griffin
  • 3 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov, (1860-1904), was born in Russia at Taganrog on the Sea of Azov. His name has become synonymous with a certain literary style much admired and widely copied since his death. Typically, a Chekhov story is a "mood", a state of mind, usually with regard to relations between one person and another. Under the influence of the constant, infinitesimal, and unforeseen pinpricks of life, there occurs a gradual transformation of that state of mind. His writing is at once fluid and precise. Most of his stories end on a minor note, instead of the dramatic flourish. Today, Chekhov is regarded as Russia's greatest writer, and his narrative works continue to attract an ever wider circle of readers worldwide.
This volume includes the following unabridged works with music and sound effects:

The Kiss
The Two Volodyas
The Lady with the Dog
The Darling
Finally, "An Essay On The Life of Chekhov", by Dimitri Mirsky, takes us on a tour of Chekhov's life and career. This critically acclaimed work of scholarship is clearly and concisely written to bring into perspective the life of one of Russia's greatest literary figures.


What the Critics Say

"Richly done, with lifelike sound effects and a delicate musical score woven skillfully into Charlton Griffin's impeccable narration. Griffin creates both fine characterizations and the intimate tone of the master storyteller. His reading is languid and cosmopolitan, filled with the fin-de-siecle ennui that is so characteristically Chekhov, while at the same time deeply evocative." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Box of Chocolates

This is a box of chocolates. Smooth, rich, and deeply satisfing. I savored each and every piece and went looking for more.
Read full review

- Darlene

Griffin is excellent

Narrator Griffen really brings these stories alive. His interpretation seems to fit the the story's character and theme. I only wish that there could have been more stories included in this volume. It is a little scant in the number it offers, but what is offered is golden.
Read full review

- Scizen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-28-2005
  • Publisher: Audio Connoisseur