The Secret of Everything

  • by Barbara O'Neal
  • Narrated by Angela Dawe
  • 12 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this spectacular novel, Barbara O'Neal delivers a generous helping of the best in life - family, food, and love - in the story of a woman's search for the one thing worth more than anything.
At 37, Tessa Harlow is still working her way down her list of goals to "fall in love and have a family". A self-described rolling stone, Tessa leads hiking tours for adventurous vacationers - a job that's taken her around the world but never a step closer to home. Then a freak injury during a trip already marred by tragedy forces her to begin her greatest adventure of all.
Located high in the New Mexico mountains, Las Ladronas has become a magnet for the very wealthy and very hip, but once upon a time it was the setting of a childhood trauma Tessa can only half remember. Now, as she rediscovers both her old hometown and her past, Tessa is drawn to search-and-rescue worker Vince Grasso. The handsome widower isn't her type. No more inclined to settle down than Tessa, Vince is the father of three, including an eight-year-old girl as lost as Tessa herself. But Tessa and Vince are both drawn to the town's most beloved eatery - 100 Breakfasts - and to each other. For Tessa, the restaurant is not only the key to the mystery that has haunted her life but a chance to find the home and the family she's never known.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wonderful book

Tessa Harlow is recuperating from an injury sustained when a landslide occurred while she was leading a hiking tour group in the mountains and one of the members was swept into the river and drowned. Tessa's own rescue from the river awakened long-dormant memories of a similar rescue when she was a child, an accident about which her father has been strangely quiet, though it was responsible for her mother's death.

Drawn to the New Mexico town of Las Ladronas and thinking it would be the ideal destination for a future tour group, Tessa finds herself embroiled in a series of strange emotions and coincidences that add layer upon layer to the mystery of her life and questions about the relationships between people in the story who seem to be so drawn to each other. Of course there is delicious love interest in the person of Vince Grasso, a handsome widower with three appealing little girls, one of whom is troubled over the death of her own mother and to whom Tessa feels especially drawn. Sparks and sex fly and together they help each other heal.

The book's appeal is heightened by the charming presence of very affectionate dogs and the sprinkling of real recipes (the author is actually a food professional herself). The recipes remind the reader of the power of good, nourishing food, lovingly prepared, to comfort and heal.

I was so sorry when this book gave great pleasure.
Read full review

- Lia "I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!"

Easy, Sweet Read

I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It is the first book I read by this author and I had no idea what to expect.

This was at its core a story about coming home. And not just for the main character. The author spends the book showing us that you have to come home to learn the truth about yourself and that when you are home, miracles occur. Perhaps not plausible, but one can dream.

I liked the way the recipes were woven into the story and the way the author used food and dogs to express emotions, spirituality, love and the magic of life.

It was a little sappy. But I have to admit that I was happy that Tessa seemed to fall as much in love with Vince's oldest daughter as she did with Vince himself.

The narration was great. I recommend the book. I highly enjoyed it and will read other books by this author.
Read full review

- Lulu "I ignore genre labels. Some of my favorite books are outside my genre comfort zone. Listening to audiobooks is still reading. Not theater."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-09-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio