The Saxon Shore : Camulod Chronicles

  • by Jack Whyte
  • Narrated by Kevin Pariseau
  • Series: Camulod Chronicles
  • 36 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Merlyn Britannicus and Uther Pendragon - the Silver Bear and the Red Dragon - are the leaders of the Colony, lifeblood to the community from which will come the fabled Camulod.
But soon their tranquillity is in ruins, Uther lies dead from treachery, and all that is left of the dream is the orphaned babe Arthur. Heir to the Colony of Camulod, born with Roman heritage as well as the blood of the Hibernians and the Celts, Arthur is the living incarnation of the sacred dream of his ancestors: independent survival in Britain amidst the ruins of the Roman Empire.
When Arthur is adopted by Merlyn Britannicus, an enormous responsibility is placed on Merlyn's shoulders. Now he must prepare young Arthur to unify the clans of Britain and guard the mighty sword Excalibur.
And, above all, Merlyn must see that Arthur survives to achieve the rest of his ancestors' dreams, in spite of the deadly threats rumbling from the Saxon Shore.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

good rendition of the book which I've read. s

story is well thought-out although by this point in the series it's a little tedious and wordy. but I still enjoy it I've read the whole series of books and now as I drive down the road I listen to the books years later
Read full review

- the Critic "bookluver"

it's the beave and his dad!

The first 2/3 of this book is a BORING collection of anecdotes that do nothing to move the plot forward. The dialogues between the men sound like the Beave and his dad. Then there are the moralizing monologs of Merlin. Yawn. Whyte seems to enjoy killing off most of the strong female characters (although he does allow his aunt to live to a ripe old age). And while I'm at it, I thought it was just creepy that Merlin should admire some woman's 'teats'! Women have breasts, Mr. Whyte!

Whew! Had to get that off my chest. In conclusion, I must add that things finally pick up towards the end. This is my second listen and I have enjoyed most of the other books in the series. I just feel offended when one gets thrown in to sell an extra book.
Read full review

- the mimsy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-20-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios