Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international best-selling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.
When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband, Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.
Charlotte Dacher is 11 when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.
Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting - and an unexpected road home.
When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis - and to open their own broken hearts - as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final minute.
©2018 Kristin Harmel (P)2018 Simon & Schuster
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By E. Moe on 04-05-18

It was okay

Any additional comments?

The connection/similarity to Kristin Hanna's The Nightingale is weak - yes, there are common plot lines - WWII at the fore, an escape line out of Nazi occupied lands, and a love story - but I found the story and characters to be lacking development and not nearly as intruiging as the Nightingale. The story is okay and it has good entertainment value - but it really doesn't rival Hannah's book of the same genre.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

2 out of 5 stars
By Martha J. Smith on 06-01-18

Written by Capt Obvious?

I made myself finish this book, but it was painful. The dialogue was so stilted and predictably obvious and banal, it had me screaming at my iPhone at times. Of the dozens and dozens of audible books I have purchased and read (some great and others not so much) this is the first
one I’ve ever returned.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews