• The River Why

  • By: David James Duncan
  • Narrated by: Dick Hill
  • Length: 15 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 06-06-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (31 ratings)

Regular price: $28.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The classic novel of fly fishing and spirituality republished with a new afterword by the author.
Since its publication in 1983, The River Why has become a classic. David James Duncan's sweeping novel is a coming-of-age comedy about love, nature, and the quest for self-discovery, written in a voice as distinct and powerful as any in American letters.
Gus Orviston is a young fly fisherman who leaves behind his comically schizoid family to find his own path. Taking refuge in a remote cabin, he sets out in pursuit of the Pacific Northwest's elusive steelhead. But what begins as a physical quarry becomes a spiritual one as his quest for self-knowledge batters him with unforeseeable experiences.
Profoundly reflective about our connection to nature and to one another, The River Why is also a comedic roller coaster. Like Gus, the listener emerges utterly changed, stripped bare by the journey Duncan so expertly navigates.
©1983 David James Duncan (P)2016 Blackstone Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A veritable epic of flyfishing...done in a high-velocity, exuberant style, sprawling in scale, heedless of form.... The feeling for and evocation of the imperiled natural world is rhapsodic in its intensity; the writing energetic, literary in a distinctly American way.... So amiable is the prevailing tone that the flowing narrative is able to absorb Koranic and Eastern mysticisms, Tao, Sufism, Zen-the religions of oneness and gospel of love-without turning into the kind of maudlin choral chanting that so often disfigures treatments of fusion of self and the world." ( Publishers Weekly)
"This is a modern-repeat, modern -tale of maturity and redemption." ( Christian Science Monitor)
"A whirlwind, madcap, humorous and sensitive novel." ( New York Times)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Charlotte on 01-29-18

surprising read

The more a read the more I wanted to listen. An unusual storyline that was enjoyable.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Steve Austin on 11-13-17

Excellent narration of a beautiful book!

It took a chapter or two togrowonme but I love the narrator's interpetationofGus' voice and style.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc