• The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

  • A Novel
  • By: Tom Rachman
  • Narrated by: Penelope Rawlins
  • Length: 14 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 06-10-14
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House Audio
  • 3.7 (109 ratings)

Regular price: $35.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt - the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of The Imperfectionists
Following one of the most critically acclaimed fiction debuts in years, New York Times best-selling author Tom Rachman returns with a brilliant, intricately woven novel about a young woman who travels the world to make sense of her puzzling past.
Tooly Zylberberg, the American owner of an isolated bookshop in the Welsh countryside, conducts a life full of reading, but with few human beings. Books are safer than people, who might ask awkward questions about her life. She prefers never to mention the strange events of her youth, which mystify and worry her still.
Taken from home as a girl, Tooly found herself spirited away by a group of seductive outsiders, implicated in capers from Asia to Europe to the United States. But who were her abductors? Why did they take her? What did they really want? There was Humphrey, the curmudgeonly Russian with a passion for reading; there was the charming but tempestuous Sarah, who sowed chaos in her wake; and there was Venn, the charismatic leader whose worldview transformed Tooly forever. Until, quite suddenly, he disappeared.
Years later, Tooly believes she will never understand the true story of her own life. Then startling news arrives from a long-lost boyfriend in New York, raising old mysteries and propelling her on a quest around the world in search of answers.
Tom Rachman - an author celebrated for humanity, humor, and wonderful characters - has produced a stunning novel that reveals the tale not just of one woman but of the past quarter-century as well, from the end of the Cold War to the dominance of American empire to the digital revolution of today. Leaping between decades, and from Bangkok to Brooklyn, this is a breathtaking novel about long-buried secrets and how we must choose to make our own place in the world. It will confirm Rachman’s reputation as one of the most exciting young writers we have.
©2014 Tom Rachman (P)2014 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"When a Tom Rachman novel lands in the bookstores, I stop living and breathing to devour it. It's hard to think of anyone who has a better grasp on the world we live in (and I mean, like, the entire planet) and can write about it with such entertainment and panache." (Gary Shteyngart, author of Little Failure)
"The haunting tale of a young woman reassessing her turbulent past...brilliantly structured, beautifully written." ( Kirkus Reviews)
"Rachman's kaleidoscopic second novel demonstrates that one's family is very often made up of the people you find and who find you along the way." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Amazon Customer on 08-10-14

Wonderful book. Superb narration.

If you could sum up The Rise & Fall of Great Powers in three words, what would they be?

Fresh but timeless.

What did you like best about this story?

Memorable characters; unusual settings.

Have you listened to any of Penelope Rawlins’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I've never heard this narrator before, but she made the story very real to me.

Any additional comments?

If you're still mourning the end of The Goldfinch, this isn't a bad follow up.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful


By DIRK & ASHLEY JACKSON on 03-18-16

Captivating and a delight to read

Some had suggested it for those who loved the Goldfinch by Donna Tart. In my opinion, while this story developed over the progression of the protagonist's life starting in early adolescence much like the Goldfinch, the unraveling of the characters in Rise and Fall was spellbinding and hard to bear in some parts. May have even shed a tear while riding the bus listening to this non-traditional story. Additionally, there were sever quotes I would stop to highlight in my Kindle so that I could keep them as tokens from a well-written novel.

Worth the length if you like character development and topics on family.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc