The Return of Norah Wells

  • by Virginia Macgregor
  • Narrated by Clare Corbett
  • 11 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

One ordinary morning, Norah walked out of her house on Willoughby Street and never looked back. Six years later, she returns to the home she walked away from only to find another woman in her place.
Fay held Norah's family together after she disappeared, she shares a bed with Norah's husband, and Norah's youngest daughter calls Fay 'Mummy'. Now that Norah has returned, everyone has questions. Where has she been? Why did she leave? And why is she back?
As each member of the family tries to find the answers they need, they must also face up to the most pressing question of all: what happens to the mother who stayed when the mother who left comes back?


What the Critics Say

"Poignant and very clever." (Company on What Milo Saw)
"A truly heartwarming story of family, love and loyalty.... It might be wise to have a box of tissues at the ready...." (Daily Express on What Milo Saw)
"A life-affirming read.... Warm, wise and insightful." (Good Housekeeping on What Milo Saw)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A complicated Disney story

First off, this is not a mystery, thriller, suspense type of book in anyway whatsoever even though the summary led me to believed these would be underlying themes. There was an excess of whimsy (ex. talking dogs, little girl having conversations with foxes etc) and confusion to the point where I thought the story was morphing into a supernatural realm. I was often confused and kept waiting for the story line to reveal itself but it instead got more involved, and more characters and conflicts kept being introduced. It was entertaining, but for such a long book I wish I knew more about the story and what a i was getting into. So as long as you know what kind of book it is and that nothing really gets resolved or even clarified, then you might enjoy it.
Read full review

- JK907

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-20-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK