The Readymade Thief

  • by Augustus Rose
  • Narrated by Emily Rankin
  • 14 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

An addictive literary puzzle that introduces an unforgettable young heroine plunged into the twisted world of a secret society with a dark agenda.
Lee Cuddy is 17 years old and on the run, alone on the streets of Philadelphia.
After taking the fall for a rich friend, Lee reluctantly accepts refuge in the Crystal Castle - a cooperative of homeless kids squatting in an austere derelict building. But homeless kids are disappearing from the streets in suspicious numbers, and Lee quickly discovers that the secret society's charitable fa├žade is too good to be true. She finds an unexpected ally in Tomi, a young artist and hacker whose knowledge of the Internet's black market is rivaled only by his ability to break into and out of buildings. From abandoned aquariums to highly patrolled museums to the homes of vacationing Philadelphians, Tomi and Lee can always chart a way to the next perfect hideout.
But the harder Lee tries to escape into the unmapped corners of the city, the closer she unwittingly gets to uncovering the disturbing agenda of the very men who pull the strings of the secret society she's hoped to elude, a group of fanatics obsessed with the secrets encoded in the work of early 20th-century artist Marcel Duchamp. What these men want is more twisted than anything Lee could've imagined, and they believe Lee holds the key to it all.
The Readymade Thief heralds the arrival of an astoundingly imaginative and propulsive new voice in fiction for fans of Marisha Pessl and Ernest Cline.

More

What the Critics Say

"A debut novel that's unexpected, uncategorizable, unputdownable." (Robin Sloan, New York Times best-selling author of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

Based on Robin Sloan's review I had great expectations.
Characters are poorly developed, writing poor quality, and plot fairly absurd.
Show, don't tell.
And give characters consistent personality traits.
I found myself rolling my eyes at the protagonist's actions.
Interesting info about the artist Duchamp was the only thing that kept me listening.
Read full review

- Dona

You're going to hear great things about this book

You're going to hear great things about this book...and they'll be mostly true. It's a great debut novel, that suitably weaved fiction with fact and perhaps a little fantasy too. This story includes robbery, murder, kidnapping, art, drugs, more murder, romance, and did I say murder? It was an enjoyable read. I would have given it 5 stars had the ending been more to the point. There was a moment when the dialogue suggested the big reveal, but it was only partial...only to continue to read on, for another big reveal with a different character.
Read full review

- Elizabeth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-01-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio