Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An addictive literary puzzle that introduces an unforgettable young heroine plunged into the twisted world of a secret society with a dark agenda.
Lee Cuddy is 17 years old and on the run, alone on the streets of Philadelphia.
After taking the fall for a rich friend, Lee reluctantly accepts refuge in the Crystal Castle - a cooperative of homeless kids squatting in an austere derelict building. But homeless kids are disappearing from the streets in suspicious numbers, and Lee quickly discovers that the secret society's charitable façade is too good to be true. She finds an unexpected ally in Tomi, a young artist and hacker whose knowledge of the Internet's black market is rivaled only by his ability to break into and out of buildings. From abandoned aquariums to highly patrolled museums to the homes of vacationing Philadelphians, Tomi and Lee can always chart a way to the next perfect hideout.
But the harder Lee tries to escape into the unmapped corners of the city, the closer she unwittingly gets to uncovering the disturbing agenda of the very men who pull the strings of the secret society she's hoped to elude, a group of fanatics obsessed with the secrets encoded in the work of early 20th-century artist Marcel Duchamp. What these men want is more twisted than anything Lee could've imagined, and they believe Lee holds the key to it all.
The Readymade Thief heralds the arrival of an astoundingly imaginative and propulsive new voice in fiction for fans of Marisha Pessl and Ernest Cline.
©2017 Augustus Rose (P)2017 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"A debut novel that's unexpected, uncategorizable, unputdownable." (Robin Sloan, New York Times best-selling author of Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Dona on 08-09-17

Disappointing

Based on Robin Sloan's review I had great expectations.
Characters are poorly developed, writing poor quality, and plot fairly absurd.
Show, don't tell.
And give characters consistent personality traits.
I found myself rolling my eyes at the protagonist's actions.
Interesting info about the artist Duchamp was the only thing that kept me listening.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Elizabeth on 08-08-17

You're going to hear great things about this book

You're going to hear great things about this book...and they'll be mostly true. It's a great debut novel, that suitably weaved fiction with fact and perhaps a little fantasy too. This story includes robbery, murder, kidnapping, art, drugs, more murder, romance, and did I say murder? It was an enjoyable read. I would have given it 5 stars had the ending been more to the point. There was a moment when the dialogue suggested the big reveal, but it was only partial...only to continue to read on, for another big reveal with a different character.

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews