The Provence Cure for the Brokenhearted

  • by Bridget Asher
  • Narrated by Kate Reading
  • 11 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the author of My Husband’s Sweethearts and The Pretend Wife comes a moving novel about love and hope in the face of loss, in which a small house in the French countryside may be responsible for mending hearts since World War II.
Brokenhearted and still mourning the loss of her husband, Heidi travels with Abbott, her obsessive-compulsive eight-year-old son, and Charlotte, her intolerably jaded 16-year-old niece, to spend the summer repairing their family home in a small village in the south of France. There, thousands of miles from home, Charlotte makes a shocking confession, and Heidi learns the truth about her mother’s “lost summer” when she was a child.
As three generations collide with each other, the neighbor next door - who seems to know all their family secrets - and an enigmatic Frenchman, they’ll journey through love, loss, and healing amid the lavender fields, warm winds, and pistou soup of Provence.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Wouldn't cure my broken heart

I was hoping for a Peter Maylish romance, something light. Mais non, it was a soap opera, with something unhappy every sentence. No joy here. It could have been set anywhere except for some references to Cezanne and a smattering of mots francaises. Not for the broken hearted.
Avoid if you are.
Read full review

- Cyd

Are We There Yet?...

Four hours in and they are just getting to Provence. I didn't expect Sophie Kinsella but this is very introspective. Each monument, crepe and cigarette is an opportunity for the protagonist to recall her husband and when they ate crepes, smoked cigarettes and saw the Eiffel Tower together. We'll see, but this is not a breezy book. More like "Elegance of the Hedgehog" in terms of style. It is wistful in prose and performance. Some people will love it.. but it isn't for me.
Read full review

- Annette

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-29-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.