The Prayer Box : Carolina Chronicles

  • by Lisa Wingate
  • Narrated by Xe Sands
  • Series: Carolina Chronicles
  • 9 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A young woman, an old woman, and the story of a lifetime…
When Iola Anne Poole, an old-timer on Hatteras Island, passes away in her bed at ninety-one, the struggling young mother in her rental cottage, Tandi Jo Reese, finds herself charged with the task of cleaning out the rambling Victorian house.
Running from a messy, dangerous past, Tandi never expects to find more than a temporary hiding place within Iola's walls, but everything changes with the discovery of eighty-one carefully decorated prayer boxes, one for each year, dating from Iola's youth to her last days. Hidden in the boxes is the story of a lifetime, written on random bits of paper - the hopes and wishes, fears and thoughts of an unassuming but complex woman passing through the seasons of an extraordinary, unsung life, filled with journeys of faith, observations on love, and one final lesson that could change everything.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A story that draws you in

Any additional comments?

I have to state up front that I had trouble understanding the narrator for this book. She had such a whispering, emotionally filled voice that at times I could not decipher what she was saying. I kept stopping and thinking that I would give up and return the book but the story just kept drawing me back. The message was positive, the characters well developed and believable and in the end I was won over. The themes of rebuilding and self discovery were strong. I'm glad I stuck with it and finished the book--the story was worth it and to me that's what really matters.

Read full review

- Sara

Felt like home!

Lisa Wingate describes Hatteras Island with such wonder that I felt like I could reach out and touch it. I felt like I was home in her words and the story was amazing. The narrator did the story such justice!! I'm going to listen again!!
Read full review

- B. D. Marois

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2013
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.