The Plot Against Hip Hop : D Hunter Mysteries

  • by Nelson George
  • Narrated by Shayna Small
  • Series: D Hunter Mysteries
  • 5 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Plot against Hip Hop is a noir novel set in the world of hip-hop culture. The fatal stabbing of esteemed music critic Dwayne Robinson in a Soho office building is dismissed by the NYPD as a gang initiation. But his old friend, bodyguard, and security expert D Hunter, suspects there are larger forces at work.
D Hunter's investigation into his mentor's murder leads into a parallel history of hip hop, a place where renegade government agents, behind-the-scenes power brokers, and paranoid journalists know a truth that only a few hard-core fans suspect. This rewrite of hip-hop history mixes real-life figures with characters pulled from the culture's hidden world, including Jay Z, Kanye West, and Russell Simmons.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Nice story

Narrator was effective. Good story with relevant names from today's society. Story had you wanting to know what was happening next.
Read full review

- tilanderson

wonderful in sight into the Hip Hop

Where does The Plot Against Hip Hop rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Great read. Has a ring of truth. remind you of unsung heores int eh hip hop world. I had to keep rewinding and listening closer to the story. Great read.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Plot Against Hip Hop?

Memories of Tupac, Biggie and and East and West Coast beef/

What does Shayna Small bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The sound effects/ and the Voice inflections made you feel like you were there right in the story.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I re listened and returned to different parts didn't want to miss a beat.

Any additional comments?

I would recommend that people read the whole D Hunter series. I'm hooked.

Read full review

- JoAnna Adams

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-07-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.