Regular price: $20.97

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The first book written by C.S. Lewis after his conversion, The Pilgrim's Regress is, in a sense, a record of Lewis's own search for meaning and spiritual satisfaction that eventually led him to Christianity. It is the story of John and his odyssey to an enchanting island that has created in him an intense longing, a mysterious, sweet desire. John's pursuit of this desire takes him through adventures with such people as Mr. Enlightenment, Media Halfways, Mr. Mammon, Mother Kirk, Mr. Sensible, and Mr. Humanist, and through such cities as Thrill and Eschropolis, as well as the Valley of Humiliation.
Though the dragons and giants here are different from those in Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, Lewis's allegory performs the same function of enabling the author to say with fantasy and simplicity what would otherwise have demanded a full-length philosophy of religion. In Lewis's skillful hands this fable becomes as effective a Christian apologia as Bunyan's.
©1933 Clive Staples Lewis (P)2000 Blackstone Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Shawn on 09-06-06

Profound and Life Changing

I listen to this three time in a row.
It has so much depth and so many layers that reveal so much profound truths about being human, the spiritual part of being human and the nature of God. It is amazing how CS Lewis accurately captures the nature of different social beliefs and then reveals their fallacies in comparison to the spiritual truth of God’s Kingdom. It is a treasure map that takes the reader on a search of gold nuggets of truths and insights. They are hidden everywhere throughout the book and many of them can only be found by re-reading (or listening) to it again and again.

Read More Hide me

26 of 28 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By david on 12-20-12

Why havent I read this sooner

What did you love best about The Pilgrim's Regress?

I went through the book two and half times in one week.... If you like CS Lewis... try it out

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jim on 05-25-06

Excellent choice.

Brilliant and captivating reading of this essential book. I didn't want to stop listening. Highly recommended.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Carôle on 05-22-17

Heavy and Hard to Follow

I start this review with a caveat: I'm not a fan of Fantasy literature and I always struggle to 'get' it. So, if you love and understand Fantasy fiction, don't read this review any further!

However if, like me, you can't get your head around the fantasy format, I'm here to tell you that this is far 'heavier' than most! I couldn't relate to most of the allegory. Each scenario was baffling to me! I truly didn't understand what each person represented. Not even Virtue! Only the old nomad, History, made any sense to me! As for Mother Kirk… I have NO IDEA WHO she is supposed to be!!! The Holy Spirit???

I also struggled with John Bunyan's Pilgrim, but not because I didn't understand the allegory, I just found it boring, tedious and 'worthy'! I enjoy all of the C. S. Lewis' Apologetics books that I've read (I've only read the 1st Narnia & didn't realise that it too was an allegorical fantasy novel), and thoroughly enjoyed them all. So I was expecting to really enjoy this. Instead I 'endured' it, hoping that the narrative would 'pick up'. For me, it didn't. It was 'interesting', but in a, "I can take it or leave it" fashion.

I wouldn't, not recommend it; but I couldn't wholeheartedly endorse it either! Play a sample first and see if it grabs you. Don't make this your introduction to Lewis if you've never read him before - unless you really do 'get' allegorical fantasy. Otherwise, start with The Screwtape Letters! That one is funny! This one is heavy!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc