The Pieces We Keep

  • by Kristina McMorris
  • Narrated by Saskia Maarleveld
  • 13 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Two years have done little to ease veterinarian Audra Hughes' grief over her husband's untimely death. Eager for a fresh start, Audra plans to leave Portland for a new job in Philadelphia. Her seven-year-old son, Jack, seems apprehensive about flying - but it's just the beginning of an anxiety that grows to consume him. As Jack's fears continue to surface in recurring and violent nightmares, Audra hardly recognizes the introverted boy he has become. Desperate, she traces snippets of information unearthed in Jack's dreams, leading her to Sean Malloy, a struggling U.S. Army veteran wounded in Afghanistan. Together they unravel a mystery dating back to World War II, and uncover old family secrets that still have the strength to wound - and perhaps, at last, to heal. Intricate and beautifully written, The Pieces We Keep illuminates those moments when life asks us to reach beyond what we know and embrace what was once unthinkable. Deftly weaving together past and present, herein lies a story that is at once poignant and thought-provoking, and as unpredictable as the human heart.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Pieces we Keep

From the opening minutes of this audiobook, I was riveted. Audra's love for her son, grief over the death of her husband, and complex relationship with her in-laws made for compelling reading.
In 1940s England, then new York, Evelyn's love story unravels. The past and the present interconnect, diverge, connect again.

I liked that not everything was wrapped up in a neat little package, even as certain coincidences made me shake my head.

That having been said, this story is well worth your time for its emotional complexity and well-done narration.
Read full review

- Daryl

did not keep my attention

The story was good but for some reason it did not keep my attention. maybe it was just me.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-09-2014
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio