The Paradise Guest House

  • by Ellen Sussman
  • Narrated by Ann Marie Lee
  • 8 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home - perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.
It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white-sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.
One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness - or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.

More

What the Critics Say

"Echoing Bali’s difficult recovery from [the 2002 terrorist bombing], the characters tread the difficult terrain of post-traumatic attachment.… A respectful and earnest…treatment of devastation’s aftermath." (Kirkus)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-26-2013
  • Publisher: Random House Audio