Regular price: $22.80

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Twelve timeless Ozarkian tales of those on the fringes of society, by a "stunningly original" (Associated Press) American master.
Daniel Woodrell is able to lend uncanny logic to harsh, even criminal behavior in this wrenching collection of stories. Desperation-both material and psychological - motivates his characters. A husband cruelly avenges the killing of his wife's pet; an injured rapist is cared for by a young girl, until she reaches her breaking point; a disturbed veteran of Iraq is murdered for his erratic behavior; an outsider's house is set on fire by an angry neighbor.
There is also the tenderness and loyalty of the vulnerable in these stories - between spouses, parents and children, siblings, and comrades in arms - which brings the troubled, sorely tested cast of characters to vivid, relatable life. And, as ever, "the music coming from Woodrell's banjo cannot be confused with the sounds of any other writer" (Donald Harington, Atlanta Journal Constitution).
©2011 Daniel Woodrell (P)2011 Hachette
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Donald Braman on 05-09-12

Terse, violent, and revelatory

These are well-crafted stories are about hard scrabble living. Every one is surprising and convincing. Only wish there were more.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Joe on 02-06-12

Sparse, graphic language with genuine insights

I never read Woodrell before though I now realize he has written an number of successful novels, some of which have been made in to movies. He is a sharp, observant wrier in the tradition of Carver and Hemingway. The language and the characters tell their story. There is no need to embellish. His characters are striking and strong and his turns of phrase will knock you out. Already, I want to listen to the stories again. Why are there no more Woodrell stories on Audible. He is a rare treasure. Read these stores and you will hear for yourself.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc