The Outlaw Album

  • by Daniel Woodrell
  • Narrated by Leslie Bellair, Brian Troxell
  • 3 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Twelve timeless Ozarkian tales of those on the fringes of society, by a "stunningly original" (Associated Press) American master.
Daniel Woodrell is able to lend uncanny logic to harsh, even criminal behavior in this wrenching collection of stories. Desperation-both material and psychological - motivates his characters. A husband cruelly avenges the killing of his wife's pet; an injured rapist is cared for by a young girl, until she reaches her breaking point; a disturbed veteran of Iraq is murdered for his erratic behavior; an outsider's house is set on fire by an angry neighbor.
There is also the tenderness and loyalty of the vulnerable in these stories - between spouses, parents and children, siblings, and comrades in arms - which brings the troubled, sorely tested cast of characters to vivid, relatable life. And, as ever, "the music coming from Woodrell's banjo cannot be confused with the sounds of any other writer" (Donald Harington, Atlanta Journal Constitution).


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Terse, violent, and revelatory

These are well-crafted stories are about hard scrabble living. Every one is surprising and convincing. Only wish there were more.
Read full review

- Donald Braman "thinkingitover"

Sparse, graphic language with genuine insights

I never read Woodrell before though I now realize he has written an number of successful novels, some of which have been made in to movies. He is a sharp, observant wrier in the tradition of Carver and Hemingway. The language and the characters tell their story. There is no need to embellish. His characters are striking and strong and his turns of phrase will knock you out. Already, I want to listen to the stories again. Why are there no more Woodrell stories on Audible. He is a rare treasure. Read these stores and you will hear for yourself.
Read full review

- Joe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-05-2011
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio