The Nightmare Chronicles

  • by Douglas Clegg
  • Narrated by Mia Chiaromonte
  • 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It begins in an old tenement with a horrifying crime. It continues after midnight, when a young boy, held captive in a basement, is filled with unearthly visions of fantastic and frightening worlds. How could his kidnappers know that the ransom would be their own souls? For, as the hours pass, the boy's nightmares invade his captors like parasites - and soon, they become real.
This audiobook also contains the short stories "Underworld," "O Rare and Most Esquisite," "The Rendering Man," "The Fruit of Her Womb," "The Hurting Season," "Chosen," "The Night Before Alec Got Married," "Only Connect," "The Little Mermaid," "Damned if You Do," and "The Ripening Sweetness of Late Afternoon." You can also listen to the acclaimed novelettes, "White Chapel" and "I am Infinite, I Contain Multitudes."


Audible Editor Reviews

The Nightmare Chronicles is a collection of 13 terrifying stories from the dark imagination of horror writer Douglas Clegg. This audiobook takes the listener deeper than he or she is probably comfortable into scenes driven by psychopathology.
The Nightmare Chronicles won the Bram Stoker Award and the International Horror Guild Award for its petrifying glimpses into hell itself. Actress Mia Chiaromonte performs this broad constellation of tales with the required diversity of tone and voice. Though she doesn't necessarily sound sinister, her pleasant timbre might just be what prevents listeners from crawling under the bed sheets in fear.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-24-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios