The Night Strangers

  • by Chris Bohjalian
  • Narrated by Alison Fraser, Mark Bramhall
  • 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the bestselling author of The Double Bind, Skeletons at the Feast, and Secrets of Eden, comes a riveting and dramatic ghost story.
In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with 39 six-inch-long carriage bolts.
The home's new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his 70-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain after double engine failure. Unlike the Miracle on the Hudson, however, most of the passengers aboard Flight 1611 die on impact or drown. The body count? Thirty-nine – a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door. Meanwhile, Emily finds herself wondering about the women in this sparsely populated White Mountain village – self-proclaimed herbalists – and their interest in her fifth-grade daughters. Are the women mad? Or is it her husband, in the wake of the tragedy, whose grip on sanity has become desperately tenuous?
The result is a poignant and powerful ghost story with all the hallmarks readers have come to expect from bestselling novelist Chris Bohjalian: a palpable sense of place, an unerring sense of the demons that drive us, and characters we care about deeply.
The difference this time? Some of those characters are dead.
From the Hardcover edition.


What the Critics Say

"A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel." (Booklist)
"Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here." (Library Journal)
"Compelling ... a practical magick horror story." (Kirkus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

...and just in time for Halloween!

As usual with Bohjalian's work, this is a compelling listen. Once the reader suspends disbelief and gets into the "genre-bending" plot arcs, the story is grabs you and won't let go. The characters are relatable and the geography and story location are palpable, supplying the primary ambiance of the narrative.

I loved the use of mixed-person narration, second person for one of the protagonists. It's not exactly a new narrative hook, but the technique works particularly well for this story and with this narrator.

Can't say more without spoiling, but suffice it to say that the twists and turns in "The Night Strangers" are delightfully unpredictable.

Read full review

- Pamela Harvey "glam"


I really, really wanted to like this book. Given that it takes place in towns and cities somewhat local to me, and I love a good, creepy story, I thought that I had no choice but to love it. But I was wrong. As was mentioned before, this book's two distinct plot lines really could have been two separate books. As far as what actually happened in the book- I did not find it frightening or spooky in the least, obnoxious would be a better word. The characters were all one-dimensional bad guys or unbelievably stupid "good guys". I'm disappointed.
Read full review

- Georgia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2011
  • Publisher: Random House Audio