The Miniaturist

  • by Jessie Burton
  • Narrated by Davina Porter
  • 13 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sold in over 30 territories, this evocative debut in the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Tracey Chevalier, and Emma Donoghue is set among a wealthy, dysfunctional family living in Amsterdam in 1686, during the decline of the Dutch Golden Age
"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed...."
On an autumn day in 1686, 18-year-old Nella Oortman knocks at the door of a grand house in the wealthiest quarter of Amsterdam. She has come from the country to begin a new life as the wife of the illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt, but instead she is met by his sharp-tongued sister, Marin. Only later does Johannes appear and present her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. It is to be furnished by an elusive miniaturist, whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in unexpected ways....
Nella is at first mystified by the closed world of the Brandt household, but as she uncovers its secrets she realizes the escalating dangers that await them all. Does the miniaturist hold their fate in her hands? And will she be the key to their salvation or the architect of their downfall?
Beautiful, intoxicating, and filled with heart-pounding suspense, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mini houses

The miniaturist is a book about a young naive girl an mean religious woman and a wealthy gentleman who all have secrets from each other and amongst the town. It's all about revenge and too much pride.
Read full review

- loralou "Mother of teenaged bear, Wife to chaos, Warrior"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-26-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd